“To be nobody but yourself in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else - means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight; and never stop fighting.” – E. E. Cummings

“To be nobody but yourself in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else - means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight; and never stop fighting.” – E. E. Cummings

Introduction to the Chakra System

Introduction to the Chakra System

One of the modules in my yoga teacher training program was all about the chakra system.  I had a general understanding through taking classes at the studio and through Yoga with Adriene videos but it wasn’t until that module where I realized it really resonated with me and was something I wanted to learn more about!

Today I’m going to explain the basics of the chakra system and then over the next 7 weeks my blog posts are going to dive deep into each one of the main chakras.  The word “chakra” (pronounced like “chalk-ra”) has become a bit of a buzz word in the yoga/wellness community, but it really is a transformational philosophy that we can bring into our western culture in order to start to understand ourselves better.  Today I’m going to explain my understanding of this philosophy and how I think it can be used to deepen our self-discovery.

The chakra system is an ancient eastern philosophy that describes the way energy moves throughout the body.  The word chakra translates to “wheel”.  A chakra is a centre of energy in the body.  There are thousands of chakras all throughout the body but the chakra system focuses on the 7 main chakras that run up and down the spinal column.  The theory is that each one of these areas help to move energy throughout the body to promote emotional and physical wellbeing.  However, it is possible for these energy centres to become blocked as a result of trauma, whether that’s a sudden traumatic event or mild ongoing trauma throughout life.

What I like about the chakra system (aside from the colours 😉) is that it provides a methodology of connecting the emotional and physical body.  It provides a structure in which we can analyze both our internal and external environment and see where there could be room for improvement in order to feel more centered within ourselves and live happier lives. 

It’s a mind, body, spirit holistic approach to wellness.  It acknowledges that we require energy in each of these areas of our physical body in order for our organs to function optimally.  But it also acknowledges that emotions are stored in the body so it’s important to make a connection between the energy in our physical body as well as the energy required to process our emotions.  From my experience, it is a very powerful system that can open us up to a deeper level of awareness on the journey of self-discovery.

For any visual learners out there (life myself!) here is a very brief overview of the 7 main chakras and an image that shows where they’re located.

1.       Root Chakra (red) – located at the base of the spine.  Theme: survival, grounding.

2.       Sacral Chakra (orange) – located below the belly button.  Theme: emotions, creativity.

3.       Solar Plexus Chakra (yellow) – located between belly button and ribs.  Theme: confidence.

4.       Heart Chakra (green) – located in the centre of the chest.  Theme: love, relationships.

5.       Throat Chakra (blue) – located in the throat.  Theme: communication, self-expression.

6.       Third Eye Chakra (indigo) – located in between the eyebrows.  Theme: intuition.

7.       Crown Chakra (violet) – located above the crown of the head.  Theme: wisdom, consciousness.

Chakra System.JPG

This system is powerful because it allows us to dive deep into each of these themes and uncover what is working and what is not.  When we are able to heal old wounds we can live more energetic, happy lives, which results in our ability to maintain happy, healthy relationships. 

When we know ourselves, we can understand others better.  When we have healed our trauma, we are less likely to impose trauma onto others.  Once we have done the work, we have the tools to continue to do so for the rest of our lives. 

Life happens, but with the right tools and resilience, we’re able to handle difficult situations more effectively.  When we shift the way we look at ourselves, the lens through which we view the world changes as well.  Compassion, non-judgement, kindness, and awareness are all key.  This work is especially important for parents or those who want to have children some day because if you can get to the bottom of some of the issues you have been faced with, it’s less likely that those issues will be passed along to future generations. 

As I mentioned, the above overview was a very high-level summary of the 7 main chakras, and I will be diving into more depth over the coming weeks, so stay tuned if you’re interested in learning more!

The purpose of this blog series is to open you up to perhaps a new concept that you hadn’t heard of before, or to give you a little more insight into it if you have heard the word thrown around but don’t really know what it means. 

I personally love learning new philosophies of self-discovery and understanding more about how energy works.  Energy is everything, so even if this concept doesn’t totally resonate with you, thank you for being here and opening your mind to a new perspective! 

If you have any questions, please feel free to message me via Instagram or send me an email by clicking on the envelop at the bottom of the page!

I look forward to sharing more as the weeks go by 😊

- Alyssa.

Root Chakra

Root Chakra

Written in the Stars

Written in the Stars